Announcing The Commons

Posted on Aug 25, 2014

The Greater Milwaukee Committee’s Innovation in Milwaukee, or MiKE, initiative, announces The Commons in partnership with Startup Milwaukee and several local academic institutions.

The Commons aims to attract, develop and retain the brightest minds in Southeast Wisconsin through:

  1. Creating a cross-university program that promotes the applied use of entrepreneurial teachings
  2. Providing an opportunity for students to explore innovation in a supportive and low-risk environment
  3. Serving as a source of talent for area businesses looking to work with and hire the city’s emerging thinkers
  4. Playing a pivotal role in economic development and job creation in Southeast Wisconsin

Vocal supporters of The Commons include Dr. John Raymond, president of the Medical College of Wisconsin; Dr. Mary Meehan, president of Alverno College; Barry Mandel, president of The Mandel Group; Michael Lovell, president of Marquette University; and Neil Hoffman, president of MIAD.

Twenty institutions were represented at the initial meeting of The Commons, signaling a strong interest in future collaboration:

  • Alverno College
  • Cardinal Stritch University
  • Carroll University
  • Carthage College
  • Concordia University
  • Gateway Technical College
  • Lakeland College
  • Marquette University
  • Milwaukee Area Technical College
  • Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design
  • Moraine Park Technical College
  • Mount Mary College
  • UW-Milwaukee
  • UW-Parkside
  • UW-Sheboygan
  • UW-Washington County
  • UW-Waukesha
  • Waukesha County Technical College
  • Wisconsin Lutheran College

Check out more about The Commons: